Southland Conference Profile








Upcoming/Recent Events




Contact Us




Other Links > College Conference Profiles


Southland Conference


Division: Division 1

Years in Existence: 1963-present


All Conference Memberships on this website are based on the school's basketball conference.


College Rankings by Conference

Conference Naming History

Southland Conference (1963-present)

      Division 2 Conference (1963-1974)

      Division 1 Conference (1974-present)

Current Members (First Year)

Abilene Christian Wildcats (1963 & 2013) (They left the Southland from 1972-2013)

Central Arkansas Bears (2006)

Houston Baptist Huskies (2013)

Incarnate Word Cardinals (2013)

Lamar Cardinals (1963 & 1999) (They left the Southland from 1987-1999)

McNeese St. Cowboys (1972)

New Orleans Privateers (2013)

Nicholls St. Colonels (1991)

Northwestern St. Demons (1987)

Sam Houston St. Bearkats (1987)

SE Louisiana Lions (1997)

Stephen F. Austin Lumberjacks (1987)

Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Islanders (2006)

Former Members (Years)

Arkansas St. Red Wolves (1936-1987) (Now Competing in the Sun Belt)

Louisiana Tech Bulldogs (1971-1987) (Now Competing in Conference USA)

North Texas Mean Green (1982-1996) (Now Competing in Conference USA)

Oral Roberts Golden Eagles (2012-2014) (Now Competing in the Summit League)

Texas-Arlington Mavericks (1963-2012) (Now Competing in the Sun Belt)

Texas-San Antonio Roadrunners (1991-2012) (Now Competing in Conference USA)

Texas St. Bobcats (1987-2012) (Now Competing in the Sun Belt)

Trinity Tigers (1963-1972) (Now Competing in Division 3)

UL-Lafayette Ragin' Cajuns (1971-1982) (Now Competing in the Sun Belt)

UL-Monroe Warhawks (1982-2006) (Now Competing in the Sun Belt)

[Home]  [Updates]  [Sports]  [Upcoming/Recent Events]  [Polls]  [Contact Us]  [Links]  [Our Facebook Page]  [Our Twitter Page]