Southwestern Conference Profile








Upcoming/Recent Events




Contact Us




Other Links > College Conference Profiles


Southwestern Conference (SWAC)


Division: Division 1

Years in Existence: 1920-present


All Conference Memberships on this website are based on the school's basketball conference.


College Rankings by Conference

Conference Naming History

Southwestern Conference (1920-present)

Current Members (First Year)

Alabama A&M Bulldogs (1999)

Alabama St. Hornets (1982)

Alcorn St. Braves (1962)

Arkansas-Pine Bluff Golden Lions (1936 & 1997) (They left the SWAC from 1970-1997)

Grambling Tigers (1958)

Jackson St. Tigers (1958)

Mississippi Valley St. Delta Devils (1968)

Prairie View A&M  Panthers (1920)

Southern Jaguars (1935)

Texas Southern Tigers (1954)

Former Members (Years)

Huston-Tillotson Rams (1920-1959) (Now Competing in NAIA)

Langston Lions (1931-1957) (Now Competing in NAIA)

Paul Quinn Tigers (1920-1929) (Now Competing in NAIA)

Texas College Steers (1920-1961) (Now Competing in NAIA)

Wiley Wildcats (1920-1968) (Now Competing in NAIA)

[Home]  [Updates]  [Sports]  [Upcoming/Recent Events]  [Polls]  [Contact Us]  [Links]  [Our Facebook Page]  [Our Twitter Page]