NHL League Profile










Upcoming/Recent Events




Contact Us




Other Links > League Profiles


National Hockey League (NHL)


Sport: Hockey

Nation: Canada & USA

Level: Major League

Years in Existence: 1918-present


Top Ranked Franchises of the Year

#1 Ranked Franchises of the Year

#2 Ranked Franchises of the Year

#3 Ranked Franchises of the Year

#4 Ranked Franchises of the Year


Current Franchises

Anaheim Ducks
Arizona Coyotes
Boston Bruins
Buffalo Sabres
Calgary Flames
Carolina Hurricanes
Chicago Blackhawks
Colorado Avalanche
Columbus Blue Jackets
Dallas Stars
Detroit Red Wings
Edmonton Oilers
Florida Panthers
Los Angeles Kings
Minnesota Wild
Montreal Canadiens
Nashville Predators
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Ottawa Senators
Philadelphia Flyers
Pittsburgh Penguins
San Jose Sharks
St. Louis Blues
Tampa Bay Lightning
Toronto Maple Leafs
Vancouver Canucks
Washington Capitals
Winnipeg Jets


Current Franchises Who Moved to Another City

Atlanta Flames (Moved to Calgary)

Atlanta Thrashers (Moved to Winnipeg and became the 2nd version of the Jets)

Colorado Rockies (Moved to New Jersey and became the Devils)

Hartford Whalers (Moved to Carolina and became the Hurricanes)

Kansas City Scouts (Moved to Colorado and became the Rockies)

Minnesota North Stars (Moved to Dallas and became the Stars)

Quebec Nordiques (Moved to Colorado and became the Avalanche)

Winnipeg Jets I (Moved to Phoenix and became the Coyotes)

Current Franchises Who Played in Another League

Carolina Hurricanes then the New England Whalers merged from the WHA

Colorado Avalanche then the Quebec Nordiques merged from the WHA

Edmonton Oilers merged from the WHA

Phoenix Coyotes then the Winnipeg Jets merged from the WHA

Defunct Franchises

Brooklyn Americans (1942)

California Golden Seals (1971-1976) (Moved to Cleveland and became the Barons)

Cleveland Barons (1977-1978)

Hamilton Tigers (1921-1925)

Montreal Maroons (1925-1938)

Montreal Wanderers (1918)

New York Americans (1926-1941) (Moved to Brooklyn)

Oakland Seals (1968-1970) (Became the California Golden Seals)

Ottawa Senators (1918-1934)

Philadelphia Quakers (1931)

Pittsburgh Pirates (1926-1930)

Quebec Bulldogs (1920)

St. Louis Eagles (1935)

[Home]  [Updates]  [Sports]  [Upcoming/Recent Events]  [Polls]  [Contact Us]  [Links]  [Our Facebook Page]  [Our Twitter Page]